About Qatar

General information

About Qatar

Qatar is a peninsula situated halfway along the West Coast of the Arabian Gulf. It has a number of islands, the most important of which are Halool, Shira'aw, Al-Ashat and others. Its topography consists of a rocky flat surface with some limestone outcrops in Dukhan area in the west and Fuwairit area in the north. The surface is full with characteristic depressions called Rawdat, particularly in the north and central plants.

Land Area:

qatar map 

11, 437 square km



1,625,723 ( till 28 February, 2009 ) According Qatar Statistics Authority (QSA)

Capital City:


Doha city, capital of Qatar, on the east coast of the Qatar Peninsula, in the Arabian Gulf. About three-fifths of Qatar's population lives within the city's limits. Situated on a shallow bay.

Official Language:


Arabic is the official language in Qatar, and English is widely spoken.



Islam is the official religion of the country, and the Shariah (Islamic Law) is the principal source of legislation in the country.



Qatar has a moderate desert climate with long hot summers and short pleasant winters with little rain in winter. The strong northwest wind, which often brings dust storms, is known as the shamal.

Major Towns:


Doha, Al Wakrah, Al Khor, Dukhan, Al Shamal, Mesaieed, Ras Lafan and others.



Qatari riyal (QAR). Each Qatari riyal is divided into 100 dirhams. Notes in circulation: QAR1, QAR5, QAR10, QAR50, QAR100 and QAR500. QAR0.50 (fifty dirhams) and QAR0.25. Smaller Coins are also legal Tender but are rarely seen.



Qatar gained independence on 3rd September 1971.

On the 27Th of June 1995 His Highness Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani assumed the rule of the State of Qatar supported by the ruling family and the Qatari people.

Public Holidays:


National Day : 18 December
Eid Al-Fitr: At the 1st of Shawwal for four days.
Eid Al- Adha: starts at 9th of Zilhijjah for five days.

National flag:

National flag

The national flag is maroon colour with a broad vertical white stripe at the pole, the two colours being separated with a nine-point serrated line.

Meaning of the flag:

A-The white colour reflects the internationally recognized symbol of peace.
B-The maroon colour symbolizes the bloodshed during the several wars Qatar had undergone, particularly in the second half of the 19th century.
C-The nine-point serrated line indicates that Qatar is the 9th member of the "reconciled Emirates" of the Arabian Gulf in the wake of concluding the Qatari-British treaty in 1916. This information on design and colour of Qatar flag was mentioned in the Archives of the British Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1931.

Work Hours:

Work Hours:

Government offices: 7 am to 2 pm.
Private establishments: 8 am to 12 noon, and 4 pm to 8 pm.
Friday and Saturday are the weekend holidays.
Shopping Center: 10 am to 10 pm

Local Time:

Local Time

Government offices: 7 am to 2 pm.
Private establishments: 8 am to 12 noon, and 4 pm to 8 pm.
3 hours + Greenwich Mean Time.

You are here: Home About Qatar